Baby Driver *****

Sometimes the experience of sitting in a cinema can make you feel really old.  Today I was is a near capacity audience and I think if you took the combined age of any three, I would still have been older.

This is because Baby Driver is squarely aimed at the current Grand Theft Auto generation.  For these millennials, raised on the criminal as hero, driving to kill, all while isolated in a Baby Driverbubble of noise from their surgically attached ear buds, this film was heaven.

But that isn’t to say I did not like it, far from it. This is a well-written, directed and acted crime caper in the long tradition of The Italian Job and Bonny & Clyde.

The music forms the controlling heartbeat of the action, raising your blood pressure with the craft of Hitchcock.  The choice of music is eclectic and appropriate.  I felt very at home with many of the choices and enjoyed the newer pieces so much; I am considering buying the sound track.

This film deserves a much broader audience than saw it with me today. For that reason I award it 5 out of five stars.  Give it a go.

2 thoughts on “Baby Driver *****”

  1. I had not considered watching this one but your review has me intrigued so will wait for it to come out on dvd 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

